In the future all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of diverless vehicles outweigh the disadvantages.

It is true that the progress in the field of driverless has quickly gathered pace in recent years, and its advantages and disadvantages are discussed by the public correspondingly. In my opinion, the advantages of driverless outweigh the disadvantages overwhelmingly. Compared with traditional vehicles, driverless vehicles have apparently merits. Firstly, one frequently cited advantage is safety. It is reported that more than 90 per cent of road collisions involve human error as a contributory factor, and it is the primary cause in the cast majority. Automation may help to reduce the incidence of this. Secondly, driverless can free the time people spend driving for other purposes. For example, If the vehicle can do some or all of the driving, it may be possible to be productive, to socialise or simply to relax while automation systems have responsibility for safe control of the vehicle. Moreover, If the vehicle can do the driving, those who are challenged by existing mobility models- such as older or disabled travellers- may be able to enjoy significantly greater travel autonomy. There is no garden without weeds. There are a number of drawbacks that can not be ignored in delivering automated vehicles to our roads. Primarily, the technical challenges in ensuring that the vehicle works reliably in the infinite range of traffic, weather and road situations it might encounter. As there is a demand for driverless vehicles that it should be able to deal with some emergency situations when drivers are no longer essential for vehicle operation. Finally, automation will erode a lot of jobs that belong to drivers. Take China as an example, there are more than 1 million drivers who earn a living by driving cars, trucks and lorries, and driverless vehicles will make them unemployed. In a nutshell, although there are some demerits about driverless vehicles, they could be overcome by other technological developments. Therefore, I believe that the advantages of driverless vehicles are overwhelming.