In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasize that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

In recent days, consumers have had many choices of goods that are often promoted as innovative and superior products by manufacturers and suppliers. Aside from that, there are a variety of motivations that will be discussed later. Personally, I am convinced that it has more benefits than drawbacks in both the manufacturing and consumer market. It is undeniable that the market is becoming competition intensity and innovation is nuclear of achieving sustainable profit growth for any business. People shift their purchasing habits gradually from seeking a long-lasting product to pursuing a grand one with cutting-edge technology. As a result, a business always aims to build its image as an innovative enterprise and use it as a competitive advantage in order to retain existing customers and acquire new market share. For instance, Apple Inc. is the most well-known representative of an innovation pioneer in the high-end market. They introduce a new version of their existing products with only a few changes in designs or only a new feature twice a year despite the fact that those products typically have a life cycle of 5 to 10 years. However, their products are always sought after by billions of Apple’s fans all over the world. On the one hand, while encouraging the consuming demand by continuing to introduce new initiative products, it is criticized for promoting a spending lifestyle that leads people to spend more than their true needs. The consequences are not only high inflation, which may have a negative impact on the economy as a whole but also a waste of resources, which will destroy our environment in a long-sight view if there is no appropriate solution is provided. On the other hand, it is more convincible that the rapidly changing manufacturing will benefit the economy as a whole. It is proven in history that every breakthrough development was usually a result of a specific revolution. For instance, the industrial revolution, which released people from manual agriculture or corporate revolution, which enabled mass production. This time, with innovation leading, I believe that a technology revolution will be announced shortly and will impact widely and deeply on our economy and society worldwide. In conclusion, it is a fact that companies are building novelty for their products for reasonable reasons. Regardless of some disadvantages, there are more advantages in terms of development.