Some people think the manufacturers and shopping malls should sell fewer packaged products while others argue that people have the responsibility to buy products with less packaging. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Opinions are often divided as to whether the manufacturers and shopping malls should be responsible for limiting the use of packaging products, or it is the customer's duty to refrain from purchasing such goods. This essay attempts to shed light on both sides of the matter before presenting my final point. On the one hand, producers and supermarkets need to take responsibility for reducing superfluous packaging. Regarding the former, corporations have the most control over their choice of packaging, including the design, material and distribution of goods. For instance, by shifting from conventional plastic to environmentally friendly and biodegradable papers, manufacturers could set a better standard for packaging in the long run. Retailers can also contribute to such efforts by launching large-scale campaigns and adopting environmentally-friendly policies to promote sustainable consumption habits. As an example, these chains would encourage consumers to purchase in bulk or bring their own bags to be eligible for discounts, which can decrease the amount of packaging required. On the other hand, customers can make their own independent choices, thereby affecting the market and influencing others. As businesses are demand-based, the general public could pressure these corporations to change their packaging methods. If consumers actively reduce their consumption of heavily packaged goods, or even organise boycott campaigns against plastic packaging, this can lead manufacturers and shopping malls to adopt more sustainable practices. Furthermore, eco-conscious shoppers, besides adjusting their own behaviours, can also encourage others to reuse and recycle, which can gradually shift the collective mindset of the populace. To illustrate, many influencers with large followers have shared their process of repurposing waste materials, demonstrating how these practices can be both easy and cost-effective, potentially persuading a wider audience to become more resourceful and purchase fewer packaged products. That said, I am convinced that a balanced approach to two ideologies is advisable. Without aware individuals, producers and outlets would prolong their packaging production to optimise their financial budget and gain maximum benefits. Similarly, should the pivotal roles of these businesses be ignored, packaged goods may remain in large use due to few alternatives for consumers to store necessary products. In conclusion, while manufacturers and supermarkets can contribute by using their resources to implement long-term, large-scale changes, consumers can also influence these businesses and themselves. A thoughtful cooperation might be the most effective way to alleviate this problem.