As countries develop, their populations tend to live individually or in small family units. What are the causes of this trend and what are the effects on society?

Residents tend to live alone or with just a few family members instead of the old-fashioned huge-family way with modern nations’ improvement. This essay would analyze what contributes to this phenomenon and what it is leading to. A few factors are behind these tremendous shifts. To begin with, it is easy for the young to get a decent job and feed themselves with the economy flourishing, and therefore there is no need to live with their parents or even grandparents to gain financial supports. Another vital reason may be the migration among citizens becoming more frequent due to the advancement of cutting-edged transportation such as high-speed railways and modern cities. Moving to another city or even country becomes a nutshell, so it seems unnecessary to do everything with ranges of family members. Finally, the changes in culture contribute to the shrunk family size. Dependence symbolizes the key value of the modern concept, which aggrandizes the willingness to live individually. Traditional huge families give way to smaller and subtler ones. As to what stems from the transformation of family form, there are various views. Some hold the view that the cut edges outweigh the harnesses, for it not only brings the concept value of freedom, the progress of individuals and better living habits but also helps ‘ alone economy’ booming, which means doing everything by oneself becomes more convenient and cheaper. However, there is a debate that shifting from families to oneself may cause psychological illness and social problems, for example, who is responsible to take care of the elder. In conclusion, fewer members to live with is a result of modern economic and social evolution and it has both merits and demerits generally.