Some people believe that teenagers should be required to do unpaid community work in their free time. This can benefit teenagers and the community as well. (Agree/Disagree)

These days extracurricular activities are becoming more and more popular. Some people think that high school should require students to do unpaid community service. This essay will discuss why unpaid social service should not be mandatory in part of high school programmes. To begin with, not all students are wealthy, some have financial problems which can affect their educational pathway. In order to pay for the tuition fee, many people have to spend their free time on part- time jobs. If they are compelled to do non-paid services for society, they will not have enough time for earning extra money. For example, a large number of students in Thailand are working in the evening after finishing school, they have to help their parents to do some jobs otherwise they will not be able to have further study. Unpaid activities for society would be a huge obstacle for them in order to earn an income for the family. Additionally, studying in high school is definitely caused massive stress on teenagers. Apart from learning various subjects in school, they should have their own free time to do whatever activities they want, so compulsory social activities should not be in part of the high school programmes. For instance, anxiety or stress-related disease in young adults has been significantly increasing, Forcing them to do unwanted activities may cause a negative impact on students’ mental health. Adolescents should have the opportunity to pursue their fascinating hobbies or other interesting activities such as playing guitar or spending a quality time with family. In conclusion, non-paying social service should not be mandatory in part of the high school curriculum. Seeing that It will cause some students to struggle in earning extra budget and also be a stress trigger for many individuals.