Some people believe that it is the resposibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Others however believe that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. Diacuss both views and give your opinion.

The issue of public health has sparked considerable debate in recent times. While some people argue that individuals are accountable for managing their own health and dietary choices, others maintain that community health should be in charge by the political leadership. In my opinion, I totally agree with the former perspective. This essay will explore both sides of the argument before reaching a conclusion. On the one hand, there are some arguments in favour of the idea that governments should make sure that their citizens have a healthy diet. To begin with, governments can ensure everyone has access to healthy food options, especially in disadvantaged areas. With the nutritionist, the political leadership can easily build several healthy diets suitable for specific ages and provide food to low-income families and individuals. Furthermore, governments also can control food quality, labeling, and advertising. People do not need to be worried about food safety when the government sets a standard in food production, processing, and storage to minimize contamination. For instance, the United States is a prime example of a country with extensive government regulations in the food industry with a complex system with varying levels of control. On the other hand, there are several reasons to support the statement that it is the responsibility of individuals to take care of their own health and diet. Initially, people have the right to choose their lifestyle and dietary habits. Each person can decide what to consume based on specific dietary restrictions due to religious, cultural, or health reasons, such as halal, kosher, gluten-free, or lactose-intolerant diets. Similarly, some people choose to follow a vegetarian diet so they can not eat meat due to government requirements. Another reason would be that individuals can manage their healthcare expenses more efficiently. The cost of an equal diet for every citizen might be higher than the extent that the government can control so based on the amount of salaries each person made, they can decide the suitable diet for them. For example, someone with a monthly income of $10,000 has more flexibility in their food choices compared to someone who only makes $1,000. All in all, the facts mentioned above have created a dilemma when people evaluate the effects of this issue, and it has still sparked controversy in recent years. As far as I am concerned, I put more emphasis on the idea that health and dietary choices can be decided by individuals instead of political leadership. People should have further consideration on this issue.