It is important for travelers and business people to understand the cultures they come into contact with. However, briefly. What are the main advantages of doing so? What do you think is the disadvantage of not doing so?

There are both pros and cons for tourists and businessmen and women to have a deep understanding of the different cultures they come across. Deep insights and rich knowledge of one culture will not only bridge the communication gap but also enable to build a trustworthy relationship with the nation. For instance, Japanese tourists tend to buy more survivors at the stores with Japanese -speaking shop keepers in foreign countries, since they can ask anything until they build trust in the product in their mother tongue. In fact, when my mother and I visited Turkey five years ago, we bought several cloth pillow covers from a cheerful guy who spoke Japanese. The fun in shopping is not gaining the material, but experiencing unique events and communicating with the world you have never before. On the other hand, the major downside would be that cultural understanding may cause misunderstandings. For example, some foreign people who fluently speak Japanese tend to be regarded as Japanese and occasionally make themselves misunderstood. In fact, one of my labmatemates from China spoke so fluently Japanese that teachers thought of him as a Japanese student and expected him to behave in the most common way in Japanese culture. As a result, he felt extreme pressure on it and fail to succeed in school work. That is, the cultural gap will rarely disappear no matter how well you speak that language. To make matters worse, the person with deep insights into one culture will be highly expected to behave like a native person. To sum up, cultural understanding in business and tourism is like both sides of a coin. The more you learn about that culture, the closer relationship you can build with the nation. However, it means that you are expected to be the native and judged in detail.