The use of mobile phone in public places is an antisocial as smoking . Smoking is banned in certain places , so mobile phones should be banned in same way . To what extent do you agree or disagree ?

Mobile phones are now very common tools and they are considered essential elements in our daily lives. However, when used improperly like at restaurants, theatres or trains they can be annoying. For these reasons, some claim that they should be regulated just like smoking and forbidden in certain situations but are they really the same? Indeed, it is a common opinion that smoking is not only a bad habit but also very dangerous for the health of smokers and of people around them. Thus, in the last decade it's been progressively banned from many public places like bars and restaurants first and parks and beaches then. For instance, I've recently found out during a trip to Spain that it is not possible anymore to smoke in bars even if you are sitting outside. So, considering that it is a well-known risk factor for many serious pathologies governments are discouraging citizens from using it. On the other hand, the situation for mobile phones is different. First of all, almost everyone has at least one and for many is an essential tool due to its multiple functions. Moreover, we all use it not only to call and text but also for reading emails or just to take pictures and check our social networks. However, despite its usefulness, it is too often used in situations where it shouldn't. For example, recently at La Scala of Milan, a famous theatre, some people protested with others that were using their phones to take photos and videos during the show. Nevertheless, its regulation may be difficult. To sum up, as far as I'm concerned, mobile phones shouldn't be treated like smoking considering the fact that we don't know yet if they are associated with health problems and that they could be necessary in case of emergency. In addition, apart from specific rules, it should be regulated by common sense and respect towards others, avoiding using them during social events.