Some people believe that alcohol should be considered as a drug and made illegal. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Some individuals argue that alcohol should be classified as a drug and prohibited by law. This essay completely agrees with this statement due to alcohol has a harmful effect on an individual’s health and also leads to serious problems in communities which means it has the same effects as drugs. One clear reason why alcohol should be prohibited is considered the main cause of several mental and physical health issues. It is thought that the government should regulate beer, spirits, and wine because in recent years it has caused extremely serious health problems such as liver cancer, diabetes, and heart attacks which put the healthcare system under strain. For example, Russia had huge pressure on health services due to alcohol -related diseases, but after they decided to ban people from drinking at night and put taxes on alcoholic beverages, it resulted in a big reduction in such cases. The more of banning alcohol in many countries, the greater of reduction in health problems in the whole world. Another reason why alcohol should be forbidden is that alcoholism causes problems in societies. Nowadays, alcohol leads to dangerous behaviours such as violence, addiction and accidents. Alcoholics are not conscious of their actions so they might do something very dangerous or even drive their cars which can cause a tragic accident. For instance, according to recent statistics on car accident rates, it is found that over 80% of car accidents were caused by alcoholism and many families lost their loved ones. Hence, alcohol is a really serious issue and the authorities should prohibit it in order to build a healthier and safer community. In conclusion, alcohol is a hazardous product and the government must ban alcohol beverages because it has the same effect as a drug, and recently it has caused serious diseases for many people and violent incidents in some societies.