Internet development has great impact on people’s life. Some people say social media do more harm to the youth. Other people sat they do the great to the youth, Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

In an ever-changing, increasingly complex world, more and more people have been influenced by media. It is argued that social media poses a threat to youngsters, while some people disagree with this opinion. In this essay, I will discuss both sides of the argument and give my opinion in the following paragraphs simultaneously. Admittedly, to some extent, social media can benefit the youth in terms of study and life. Owing to the fact that it provides a large platform for younger people to access information and acquire skills quickly. For instance, WeChat, as a typical example, enables young people to read passages from official accounts and have frequent chats with various people from different backgrounds. Thus they can broaden their horizons by obtaining useful sources in their academic study, and improve their communications skills at the same time. Consequently, social media would largely enhance youngsters’ abilities in their daily life. Nevertheless, like other groups of people, I still believe that social media is harmful to adolescents. First and foremost, social media might distract teenagers, which largely influences their physical health. As we know, teens lack self-control, thus they may spend much time on these applications, disrupting their sleep subsequently. Therefore, it would greatly harm their health due to insufficient sleep. Alternatively, social media might influence the mental development of the youth, because teenagers are more impressionable by exposing them to bullying and rumour spreading. Hence, they would lack independent thinking and critical thinking. In conclusion, although social media offers a quick way for teenagers to study, I solely agree that it will be detrimental to the development of the youth.