We have entered a throw-away society and fill the environment with rubbish. What are the causes and what are your solutions?

Recently, the throw-away society with environmental issues has been brought into focus. Nowhere in history has the issue been more visible. In this essay, I aim to explore this complicated phenomenon from diverse perspectives, identify the relevant contributing factors, and bring up some effective measures. Although technological advances in recent years have made many goods more durable, these remarkable changes have failed to steer us towards a sustainable future. One of the main reasons is inseparable from economic development. As the domestic economic level has been increased, overconsumption can lead to excessive waste generation. To be specific, more and more impulse shopping often makes people deviate from their purchase plan and buy the excess amount of goods, which to some extent causes a throw-away society with an increasing amount of rubbish. Besides, the reason that we have entered a throw-away society is the lack of environmental awareness. For instance, people who habitually use disposable goods often do not realize that the rapid rotation of goods can pose great harm to the environment. In my opinion, there are three main solutions to the discussed question. The most important solution, I think, is for the government to raise the environmental consciousness of the public. One way is to conduct regular campaigns about the importance of the environment, especially on campuses. Secondly, the government should set new limitations about the amount of rubbish one person could generate each year and restraint the consumers’ behaviors, such as restricting non-recycled plastic bags. Furthermore, a practical solution to the problem is to upgrade materials and resources to an environmentally friendly level. This is beginning to have an effect in some countries. I believe that other countries will also take this way to solve the problem in the near future. To sum up, if the problem continues, the effects will be great. So we should keep reasonable consumption and care for our environment.