Many people are afraid of leaving home because of crimes. Some believe that more action should be taken to prevent crimes, but others feel little can be done. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The rise in the crime rate in the past decades has fuelled public worries about the rapidly declining safety of their communities. Some people take the position that little can be done to prevent themselves from victimization/persecution. As opposed to this general pessimism, many people, however, maintain that in combating crimes, people should adopt a proactive approach. I side with the latter to a larger extent. There is no denying the fact that crimes are so widespread and increasingly violent so that the public is pessimistic about this situation. They also feel the widening wealth gap makes criminal activities common solutions to poverty. Even some argue that it is human nature to break laws so all efforts would be in vain eventually. Notwithstanding all that, much heavier weight should be attached to the confidence that although crimes can hardly be stopped, they will be prevented from occurring effectively. To begin with, the government can improve the situation by preventive measures against crimes, including launching anti- crime public campaigns and enforcing new laws. To be specific, the combination of imposing tougher laws and training a more effective police force does a great job of deterring potential crimes. Besides, security cameras installed in areas with high crime rates can also make offenders easier to catch so fewer people would do something illegal. Meanwhile, the government should strengthen the publicity on mass media throughout the country to alert the public to the threat of crimes and teach citizens self-defence techniques. In addition, many crimes can be nipped in the bud if the government gives top priority to education and social security. A civilized society is characterized by a high literacy rate and a low crime rate, which means that one will be away from a life of crime if given access to education. Apart from that, by providing free training courses to unemployed people, creating more job opportunities and perfecting the social welfare system, the living standard of the disadvantaged groups can be guaranteed. When a society becomes more equal and fair, it is not an extremely demanding job to reduce crimes. To conclude, although tackling crimes is very challenging, crime prevention will be achievable through the precautions mentioned above. In fact, it needs the commitment of nearly all members of society, from the government to ordinary citizens.