Some people believe that allowing children to make their own choices on everyday matters, such as food, clothes, and entertainment, is likely to result in a society of individuals who only think about their own wishes. Other people believe that it is important for children to make decisions about matters that affect them. Discuss these views and give your own opinion.

Some people think children making their own decisions on important things may only think about themselves. However, others believe that children should decide their matters. In my opinion, parents should balance these methods so that they can teach their kids efficiently. Therefore, they can grow up to be a lovely person. Making their own decisions, kids are likely to think about their needs, and do not care about others’ opinions. For example, they choose the restaurant that they want to go to without asking and listening to what others say. It is possible that when they were young, some parents may not teach that they do not always get what they want. Sometimes they need to compromise if they want something, and others do not agree with them, such as doing group assignments. Hence, advice is vital for children ’ development. On the other hand, giving children choosing freedom means parents respect their opinions and trust them. As a result, they will be willing to express their ideas and do whatever they want. This will teach them to be more confident. For instance, when kids want to wear clothes in different styles, they can dress up without caring about other people’ thoughts. It is also good chance to try making decisions. If they choose correctly, it will boost their confidence. If not, they will be given useful lessons. Therefore, they should decide matters that affect them. To sum up, allowing children to make their own choices has positive effects on them, such as their personality, so adults should give advice, and let them do so.