Some people hold that it is the television that alienates the relationship of family members. To what extend do you agree or disagree?

In modern society, watching TV is one of the most popular forms of entertainment. The matter that whether or not television alienates the relationship of family members is of great concern to the public. Personally, I do not agree with this statement. It is undeniable that some people are addicted to television and spend most of their personal time in front of the television, ignoring their main responsibilities as family members. But I don’t think TV is the main reason for the lack of communication between family members. Before the invention of television, people would spend their time playing poker, reading or playing chess. First, if family members like each other, they will always find many ways to spend their family time and stay close. Otherwise, if people avoid each other and have nothing to share, TV is just a way for them to spend time. On the other hand, it is a good way that watching television together is for all generations in a family to enjoy, discuss and share. Watching TV as a family is a good way to relieve stress and increase relationships, just like other family activities. After dinner, watching a comedy with the family on the sofa will be a wonderful memory that will not be forgotten. According to a survey conducted by the Chinese Academy of Social Sciences, 65% of couples believe that television program is an important resource for discussion topics. To sum up, I strongly disagree that televisions cause the distant relationship of family members, watching TV is just an ordinary form of entertainment.