Road accidents are more frequent these days and claim many lives each year. As a result, some people suggest that drivers should take regular driving tests throughout their lives, rather than one single driving test, to improve the situation. What do you think are the advantages and disadvantages of repeat driving tests? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

The number of calamity and fatalities have increased subsequently over the years. Although there are various reasons why this is happening, many people argue that having people take driver's tests at regular intervals will ease this problem. The disadvantages of taking them definitely are higher than the advantages but, that is not the only solution to it. The only advantage of taking these tests is to make sure that a person has been licensed properly by the government and he or she has been driving as per the rules and regulations. Taking these does not guarantee that they are efficient drivers and are unlikely to cause major casualties. In many reports, it has been evidently stated that the mishaps are caused majorly because of the influence of alcohol and very rarely by unlicensed drivers. Repeating and retaking a regular exam is not only easy but also becomes familiar. A small 15-minute test regularly cannot guarantee the decline of road calamity. There is a good possibility for licensed drivers to cause casualty because of drugs, alcohol or other factors. Alternatively, the government should also encourage people to use public transport such as trains or buses thus reducing the accidents on the road. In conclusion, it is very evident that having to retake the same test does not help in reducing disaster. The only way to resolve this situation is by having stricter punishments. The governments should take severe action against the public by cancelling their licenses. Also, increasing the upper age limit from 18 years to 21 years might help in reducing road accidents.