Small business should avoid recruiting young women who do not have their own family in order to avoid paying maternity leave later on. To what extend do you agree or disagree ?

Maternity leave is becoming more of a topic of interest for workers and businesses. Some small-scale companies have a policy that only requires women who have their own families with children in order to not allocate maternity leave allowance. I do not agree with this statement because of several reasons which will be discussed in this essay. Firstly, companies have an obligation to provide at least 12 months of paid or unpaid maternity leave for their employees. This maternity leave granted to women is a legally protected right and is also considered a human right. It's acceptable that for small businesses paid maternity leave can be challenging because they have few employees and limited resources. Small businesses that do not want to pay women for maternity leave and create a discriminatory recruitment process can be sentenced by the court to pay greater costs. Furthermore creating discrimination while recruitment process does not ethical attitude for all employers both small and big and it is against to law. Secondly, it is a common phenomenon during a job interview that women are asked whether they plan to have children. For example, some businesses hire a married woman who has no children and tell her not to have children for a long time. Women who are subjected to such treatment by managers or human resources workers are exposed to mobbing in the workplace. This is both an intervention in private life and a violation of the principle of equality. In conclusion, paid maternity leave is a legal obligation for companies and an attitude to the contrary can cause many constitutional and human rights violations, especially the pregnancy discrimination law. If Companies do not want to face greater penalties in the future and should avoid discriminatory recruitment processes.