In some countries, marriages are arranged by the parents but in other cases, people choose their own marriage partner. Discuss both systems and state which one do you think is better.

Arranged marriage or love marriage is the most controversial topic these days. An individual has all the right to choose his or her partner but still in many countries parents are not giving this choice to their grown-up kids. However, I truly believe, a person should have the first say in making this life-changing decision instead of just blindly fulfilling their parents wish. We will discuss both trends in the following paragraphs. To start with, arranged marriages are the ones in which individuals are introduced by their parents and they hardly know anything about each other. Surprisingly, at some places, they directly meet on their wedding day. The main reason behind this system is that the elders feel they know what is better for their children, moreover, they are afraid, if their kids will get into an inter-religion relationship which perhaps will be difficult for them in the later stages of life. Therefore, either they give them a few options to choose from or directly introduce them to the person they like. On the other hand, love marriages are completely opposite in which couples know each other well and when they are finally convinced that they can spend their lives together, they make their parents meet. There are many advantages of this system like as they already know each other, they have a better understanding and maybe will have fewer expectations. Additionally, such marriages will lower the domestic violence rates in society. Hence, love marriages can be a better system for the community. To summarize, both marriage types have their own merits and demerits, but in my opinion, everyone should make their own decision to choose the right partner. Surely, parents can give their advice but at the same time, they should not force their children with their decisions.