Some people think studying from the past offers no benefits to today’s life, while others believe history is a valuable source of information for us. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Several people have been left to wonder whether there is any value-added to their present life by studying historical materials or they can be an important source of information that adds value to the present day. This essay will discuss, firstly, why some people believe they can use what they studied from historical materials can offer them presently, secondly while some people believe that studying historical materials offers no gain to their present life. Studying historical materials can be a way to not repeat past mistakes, or it can also just be for the sake of gaining more knowledge on past events for discussion amongst peers. For instance, the bible is one of the historical materials I read and I read it to acquire knowledge about God and also to gain knowledge of bad judgement that was made so I don't make the same mistake and be damned. Furthermore, some people don't believe studying historical materials can help them in the present because they assume it is irrelevant to what is currently happening in the world, or they feel it is what knowing. For instance, how does studying about world war 2 help them in the present? For them, realistically it doesn't because there is no war happening. Moreover, I believe that studying historical materials can be helpful in dealing with present-day situations, and also it can be helpful in communicating when subjects arise in social gatherings. People should study history not because it can be helpful to us in the present day but so we can be aware of them. In Summary, History can be useful, so also can it be less useful. However, it is important that we study history even if it is just for knowledge.