Advertising discourages people from being different individuals by making us all want to do the same and look the same. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

There is an opinion that advertising promotes everyone to be indifferent as they wish to do the same things and look alike. While I disagree with this point of view, I believe that advertisement impacts consumers ' behaviours. There are two reasons for me to oppose that advertisement encourages individuals to be synonymous. Firstly, as there are various brands and merchandises, they need to offer us a wide range of options to raise brands' competencies. For instance, a coat is designed with indifferent colours, materials, styles, or textures by well-known companies like Gucci or Chanel. Even from local or unknown brands, the products are offered at assorted models and prices. Secondly, since the companies place their advert on diverse platforms, consumers will inevitably have higher standards and critical appraisals on every product they use. Prior to purchasing any merchandise, they will seek reviews from several sources like experts, customers, or influencers. Therefore, eventually, both companies and consumers quest for unique images. On the other hand, advertising does affect public behaviours, especially when they are able to reach their target audiences by different methods. Albeit each brand has its designs, they all follow trends and pursue their customers to follow. Apple's iPhone series has been a clear example of this, as the company took the initiative to the rectangle-edged and rabbit ears notch design, which galvanised others companies to follow. Furthermore, many advertisements use manipulative tactics that can influence customers without realisation. Since traditional methods like the commercial break or classified ads no longer deliver commensurate values, companies started using delicate approaches like product placement, celebrity endorsement, or word of mouth referrals. As a result, publicity is manipulated if they do not think critically and control their desires. In conclusion, I firmly believe that consumers can purchase wisely and have images distinctively whilst affected by advertising.