Some people think it is important to wpend on roads and highways than on public transport systems such as railways and trams. To what extent do you agree or diagree?

Some people say it is more important to spend money on roads and highways rather than on public transportation systems such as railways and buses. I agree there are some advantages and disadvantages in both systems. I will discuss this topic comparing each other in the following paragraphs. First, roads and highways play a crucial role in our daily lives. Without well-maintained traffic roads, we cannot drive to the nearest drugstores, grocery stores, and hospitals by car for example. Similarly, we cannot receive any product purchased online as soon as we now do if it were not highways because it is usually the trucks that bring us the products anywhere we want. Therefore, a certain amount of cost spending is inevitable for local governments in order to preserve the roads and highways. Second, some argue that public transportation is needless anymore. They state that they do not need buses, trains, and taxis if we have our own cars. As more and more people own their private cars for themselves, public transportation cannot gain enough profits for maintenance in some rural areas. In fact, quite a lot of local bus companies and rail companies have started to shrink their service range. It might take little time to eradicate the local public transportation system in the future. However, I strongly disagree with the idea that traffic roads and traffic services far outweigh public transportation because we still need it and our heavy use of private cars causes some problems as well. For instance, whenever we are drunk, we cannot drive a car in Japan as driving in a drunk status is illegal and dangerous, killing lots of people every year. Like this, we must use public transportation when we are not in a good health condition. In addition, too much traffic causes traffic jams, which worsens the air pollution in the city area and leads us to be late for important schedules. In many opportunities, we are recommended to use public transportation to the destination according to this reason. Accordingly, the public transportation system is something necessary in our lives which we have to preserve. In conclusion, I strongly believe the expense on maintaining public transportation is important as well as the roads and highways for local governments. Although there are some merits and demerits for both sides, people should understand them and use them wisely.