the continued rise in the world's population is the greatest problem faced by humanity at the present time. what are the causes of this continued rise? do you agree that it is the greatest problem faced by humanity?

The number of people living in the world has tripled in the last century and it is still growing at a rate that will soon be unsustainable for the ecosystem. Many causes, both social and political, are behind this problem and the solution is obviously hard to find. However, we have to start dealing with it or we will have to face critical consequences. There are many reasons that have brought us to a global population of more than 9 billion humans. Clearly, over the last 100 years, many innovations have let people live longer lives. For instance, thanks to the progress made in the medical fields, most of the known pathologies are now treatable and in many,countries it is possible to live up to 90 years of age. Moreover, the overall quality of life has increased and problems such as hunger and extreme poverty are still present only in a few countries. Nevertheless, the poorest nations are often the ones that lack proper birth control programs, probably as a consequence of the overall low level of education.  As a matter of fact, the world's ecosystem is severely affected by this massive number of people and their behaviour. For example, the amount of garbage produced every year and the air pollution-related to industries are causing catastrophic changes such as global warming. Moreover, industrial farming is one of the main reasons why the Amazon Forest and its biodiversity are being destroyed. It has been stated that in the last 50 years almost 65% of the earth's animal species have faced extinction and that we are now driving many others to the same destiny. Therefore, we are destroying our planet with our own hands. In conclusion, I believe that the world's population is growing at an unsustainable rate and that governments should propose social programs to reduce this growth. Hence, less developed countries should be helped to maintain control of the birth rate while providing proper education to their citizens about the problem. Apart from that, it may well be too late but we definitely need to change our lifestyle in a more sustainable way to avoid a global catastrophe.