Some people say that because many people are living much longer, the age at which people retire from work should be raised considerably.

It is said that the time for people to dedicate to work should be expanded due to the longer life expectancy. From my own p rospective, I c omplete a gree with this opinion. This essay will elaborate t he discussion in detail. In our modern world, it goes without saying that technology and medicine have made a breakthrough. Thanks to this development, the cognitive ability of each person is also significantly improved, which boosts the capability of dealing with w ork of everyone in general. For instance, in the past, it is proved that the performance of workers is less effective when they reach the age range of 50 to 55. However, nowadays, the working period can be prolonged because of living conditions. People tend to keep the ability to think flexibly and efficiently when they pass the mentioned age. Therefore, raising the working period is a way to make full use of human resources. In addition, the e xtend of l abouring age also enables the elders to devote themselves to their career with the accumulated experience. This is important as it makes a great contribution to the i ncreasing of material and wealth of the society. Some may argue that the longer life expectancy of people should not be the reason for raising the working time as this is the moment for people to enjoy their lives. Nonetheless, I would defend that carrying out a job is actually a way of enjoying or even entertaining. If an individual is fully conscious of solutions to the problems emerging in t he d aily life, besides the time for family, he or she can absolutely dedicate to what-so-called passion. Continuing to devote makes one feel a sense of being helpful and live the rest of his or her life meaningfully as they are not a burden for others. This is how the elders keep their purpose and pleasure in living. In conclusion, the retirement age of people should be raised greatly because the benefits from this decision are crucial for both the community and individuals themselves. In this way, the old generation will find enjoyment regardless of t he age.