The death penalty is the best way to control and reduce serious crime. To what extent do you agree?

The surge in criminal activities has invoked a need for severe measures to control the situation. Although there are several punishments other than the death penalty, the prosecution of a criminal is an effective way to alleviate the crimes. The following paragraphs will highlight the reasons for the death penalty being an efficient method to control criminal activities in the country. By and large, a death sentence is considered the most severe punishment according to the law. While this might bring resentment to the family of an offender,in the larger picture such punishments aid the healthy development of society. Being a harsh resolution, such decisions induce fear in the minds of potential criminals and reduce the likelihood of them committing a crime. For example, if murder is prosecuted with a death sentence, another hitman who was to kill somebody would be compelled to rethink. Additionally, steps like these act as positive reinforcement towards society by inducing optimism among the people. For example, if the person accused of an acid attack is punished with high severity, this would enforce a feeling of sigh in the acid-attack survivor. Besides the factors mentioned above, serial offenders have a lower tendency to improve as they lack emotional quotient. To further explain the conjecture, these criminals do not empathize with people and hence do not feel the pain of the victim. Lastly, if the high-intensity measures are implemented properly, the action will ensure that criminals are making an informed decision and are well aware of the consequences. For instance, if rapists are cognizant of the fact that the punishment for an offence such as rape is death, they might omit the crime and hence life of an innocent woman would be at mercy. Based on the arguments presented above, the death penalty would be the most appropriate step towards controlling criminal activities as this would not only ensure the punishment equivalent to the offence, in terms of severity but would also pardon crimes which potential criminals were to commit in the future. Hence, the death penalty shall prove to be a holistic punishment.