In many countries today there are many highly qualified graduates without employment. What factors may have caused this situation and what, in your opinion, can/should be done about it? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience. Write at least 250 words.

Unemployment is a growing concern in many countries with a lot of highly qualified graduates unable to find work. This is because the government is underequipped to provide employment to all the graduates and with new technologies coming in every day there is constant pressure for the students to up-skill them all the time. In many countries, the government has no proper method to streamline the employment process. The procedure to apply for a government job is very lengthy and difficult. This is one of the reasons why a lot of students choose to work in private companies despite the uncertainty with their job. Although this might be difficult to implement in countries like India/China where the population is very high and the government cannot create such a high volume of jobs, it is definitely not impossible. Another reason for severe unemployment is technological advancements. We are forced to learn and level up our skills at all times. Because of, this there is heavy competition among the students and the company’s like Google and Facebook are always looking out for very highly skilled candidates thereby setting a skill benchmark in the industry. Every company adapts to this benchmark thus making a lot of graduates unemployed. In my opinion, the only way to resolve this is by creating ample jobs in both government and private sectors and having the same selection and interview process. The companies also should start establishing the relevant skillset required for a particular job so that the students / graduates focus and learn to master the niche skill.