People spend large amounts of time and money on clothes, hairstyles and make up to change their appearance. Is it important for people to be concerned about the way they look? What are the consequences of focussing on physical appearance?

Personal appearance is a crucial part of everybody's life. Some people try to change it in different ways, such as buying clothes, hairstyles and makeup. Then, they need to use their time and money to do it. This essay will present some ideas about the importance of this concern and some consequences of staying focused on how people's look. On the one hand, most of the daily activities need a certain type of clothing. Some may believe that attending to this is important to receive others' respect. Therefore, focusing on self-image is a natural response to it. For example, employees at the university level or in front of a desk wear formal. For that reason, they spend a high part of their payment to improve their dresses, suits and, shoes. Women usually buy makeup to feel comfortable while working. Also, although bank workers wear uniforms they are worried about their interaction with customers. So, they invest in new hairstyles or nail polish. Yet, a few people change how they look in order to be unique among a group of people or a classroom, not for professional reasons. On the other hand, spending too much time thinking about the physical aspect could result in a loss of focus in other important areas. Hairstyling or make-up needs to stay updated continuously to keep looking as expected. It is an expensive activity to sustain. Economic problems could be the consequence of a superficial lifestyle. Moreover, those activities need several minutes or even hours to be completed. Worrying about that remove time and money from other personal tasks such as making exercise or cooking healthy food. In some cases, putting all the attention on the image is a distraction from other important aspects as intelligence, effort and, responsibility. To conclude, it is crucial to be worried about personal appearance, however, the balance must be part of it. The positive consequences could increase the quality of service and the lifestyle, while the over-attention to this topic could bring financial or even health issues.