Around the world, children learn English as a second language at school. However, in some places, they also learn at kindergarten (pre-school care, when children are aged two to five). To what extend do you agree or disagree.

In some countries, children would learn English as a second language at primary school, while in some parts of countries, juveniles started to learn English before they turned five. Indeed mastering more than one language is becoming an indispensable life skill due to globalization, hence I strongly agree that kids should have started learning English at an early age. To begin with, effective learning is proven to likely happen at an early age due to rapid brain development. At this stage, children explore new things by copying and mimicking what adults say. To illustrate, teachers or parents would speak English to communicate in a daily conversation without having to tell children the meaning of each word or the theory behind it. Kids would naturally and gradually build their understanding of how to use the language since they see the context on when and how to use certain expressions. Additionally, letting kids to acquiring a new language since they were young would lead to less traumatizing learning. It is widely known that most English subjects at school would have a final goal to assess language ability through some paper tests. However, children below five years old learn new things with curiosity as a trigger and their goal is to be able to communicate and understand what other people saying. Hence, they will internalize the learning process as a fun experience. Finally, although some argue that teaching a second language since young would bring stress and unnecessary burden on children, they should remember that this will not happen if the teaching method is designed correctly so that it will increase child curiosity. Allow the young generation to immerse the language in daily context and provide a more suitable parameter to test other than paper exam would not bring pressure on the learning process. In conclusion, I believe with a good approach and learning method, children are more than capable to learn a second language at an early age which in the end will bring benefits for their future-facing globalization.