Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Some societies argue that increasing jail time is the most effective solution to reducing scandal rates. Others, however believe that there are several means through which crimes can be significantly lowered. This essay will discuss both opinions and will concur with the latter by highlighting the impact of employment on lawlessness. On the one hand, offences that have a longer duration served behind bars are significantly less performed. For instance, first -degree murder is less reported as an offence in Kampala City, in Uganda compared to theft of property. This can be attributed to the long prison sentence as well as the possibility of capital punishment. Spending more time incarcerated means separation from one's family. Also living in extremely poor conditions for a longer time. This can easily scare potential offenders and hence reduce the rate of crimes in a country. However, it wouldn't necessarily deter a pick-pocketer from stealing phones as they move along the streets. Therefore, while longer prison sentences can be a means to curb crime, I do not think it is the best solution. Instead, providing employment opportunities to young people would reduce the number of crimes markedly. It is well known that the majority of offenders are youths who commonly engage in illegal activities due to idolatry, additionally most steal as a means of survival. Through the construction of a central town workshop in Kampala, for example, many young folks have been employed. They spend most of the day acquiring skills and working, leaving them minimal time to think of misdeed. Moreover, they earn a wage at the end of the day. Also, the use of illicit drugs has significantly reduced. Hence, with increased access to jobs, a big proportion of the population are able to provide for their basic needs rather than relying on stealing to survive. In conclusion, while increasing jail time might reduce offences by scaring potential offenders, I do not agree that it is the best approach. I rather believe that equipping young people with skills and providing work can be an effective means to curb wrongdoing in the country since most would instead be occupied and earning as well.