When new towns are planned, it is important to build more public parks or sports facilities than shopping centres for people to spend their free time. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is very important to allot more land for parks and public sports clubs than malls during the setup of a new town or sector. It helps people to spend quality time with their family and friends every day. I fully agree with the statement. This essay will elaborate on my perspective in detail. Every new town and sector should have more space for public parks and sports facilities because it enhances the social life of the residents of the area. Children get enough space to play games such as cricket and football if municipalities have already allocated the areas to grounds. Moreover, it also helps women and elderly people to do exercise and gossip in the evening at parks. Last but not least, it improves the overall health of the masses by spending time in outdoor activities. For example, according to World Health Organisation, it has been seen that the residents who have facilities of parks and sports are more physically and mentally fit as compared to the people who do not have such facilities. The Shopping centres are good to buy things or get some technological entertainment as cinemas, Restaurants but these closed corner buildings do not let people go towards fitness. Secondly, these places are not free of charge, it takes to get their service which makes an economic burden on people, although public-funded parks let them spend their leisure time without any cost. Thirdly, people have to dress up to go to shopping centres to get some enjoyment which is difficult to do after hectic schedules of people. So, in this scenario, they love to go to parks in their trousers to feel the beauty of nature to reduce their stress level. For instance, as per the survey of The Hindu newspaper, people who indulge in some sort of sports has 50%less chance to get depression. In Conclusion, open areas like grounds and parks are much more beneficial and effective to spend free time by people rather than going to shopping places. So, responsible authorities should always give more spaces to parks and sports clubs during the new construction of towns to enhance the overall fitness of people.