The most important aim of science should be to improve people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Science should mainly focus on enhancing peoples’ quality of life. This essay strongly agrees with this argument because research in science helps prolong humans’ lifespans by discovering new health treatments and promoting healthier lifestyles. Firstly, experts conduct scientific research to discover advanced cures or treatments for the sake of public health. During the spread of Covid-19, many people died from this virus and the vaccine helps to curb the spread. Before the Covid-19 vaccine was discovered, many patients developed chronic symptoms, and their conditions worsened quickly. It was spreading superfast and became a pandemic. Midst the chaos, scientists strive to find the vaccine to slow down the spreading. Ultimately, this disease could be tackled by massive vaccination around the world. For example, in Indonesia, after the first batch of mass vaccination, in the following months, there was a significant decline in the spreading rates. Secondly, through scientific discoveries, people could have guidance on healthy lifestyles. This is to say, health research provides new light on dietary habits. For instance, a well-known dietary professor from UCL, Tim Spector said that there is a link between the diversity of microbiome in intestines with human health. The more diverse the microbiome is, the more healthy the person is. To achieve this, people should eat more fibre such as grains. In addition, fermented food such as kimchi also increases the variety of organisms within the guts and improves the digestion system. In conclusion, aiming for humans’ higher quality of life as the main incentive in scientific research should be seen as a positive thing because they invent new medical treatments and bolster healthier dietary habits.