Many people use social media to keep in touch with other people and for news events. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

In this day and age, the majority of people use social media to connect with each other and to receive news. In my opinion, the benefits of using social platforms such as better communication and easy accessibility to news override the drawbacks of distractions and getting misleading information. On the one hand, a large number of people use social networks to communicate with one another such as by using What's App or Facebook. This is a much easier and convenient way of having conversations with family members or friends especially when they are living in different cities or countries. For instance, international students can talk to their parents or siblings whenever they want through What's app video calls. Hence, it is extremely beneficial for those who live far away from their loved ones. Furthermore, regarding the news headlines, social platform plays an important role in terms of getting updates. Nowadays, it is not necessary to wait for the newspaper to get information about what is going on around the globe. As we have online news channels, people can watch the latest stories whenever they want. Thus, the social network helps in keeping people aware of their surroundings every second. On the other hand, usage of social media can also have negative impacts such as distraction or wastage of time. Many young people spend extended hours on their mobiles either talking to their peers or chatting in groups for time pass. Hence, it is highly unproductive for them. Moreover, getting online news can sometimes be misguiding as people can share fake news to gain popularity and it also becomes difficult to distinguish between true and false information. Therefore, the use of social websites can have detrimental effects. To conclude, social media is a great medium for connecting with people and receiving headlines for many people. In my opinion, the pros of using these online websites such as better communication and easy access to news updates are far better than the cons which include distractability and fake news stories.