Many students choose to study at colleges and universities that are far away from the places where they grew up. Do the benefits of this outweigh the drawbacks?

Many pupils decide to pursue higher education at institutions that are distant from their families. Although this can be financially challenging, I believe that the advantages totally outweigh the disadvantages because it can help them broaden their horizons. The main downside of students attending universities that are far from the places where they were brought up is that they have to pay for living expenses. If a person moves into a new city, he will have to spend a certain amount of money on renting an apartment to live in, and this is usually very expensive, especially in mega cities which are overcrowded. For example, the price of accommodation in Hanoi has been driven up in recent months, and this has caused many college students to eat less in order to save money. However, I believe that all these sacrifices are worthy compared to the benefits they bring later. On the other hand, studying in big cities that are away from home country can help expand students ' knowledge about the outside world. That is to say that they can deepen their insight into other cultures, explore new places that they have never been to before and meet people with different perspectives. For instance, many students view studying abroad as the opportunity to travel and discover new lands, and then come back with lots of experience and viewpoints. As getting to know new things is so important for young people, I'm of the opinion that being an overseas student is more advantageous. In conclusion, even though it might cost less to attend a local college, one must consider the benefits of exploring unfamiliar environments. For these reasons, the positives far outnumber the negatives.