Prison is the best way to punish criminals. Give your opinion.

nowadays there has been growing debate that some people advocate prisons are the vital factor to punish criminals and others have a counter-argument that we have some other better ways to reduce crime. I believe locking up someone in a room for a long period will not give much effect on the crime rate and this essay will elaborate my stance with suitable examples. First of all, there are two main reasons to substantiate my perspective with this statement. First, Detention centres have been in all around the world for ages but the illegal activity rate is increasing day by day. Second, our ancestors had been encountered the worst kind of punishment in their period, though there is plenty of evidence proving that the violation rate was high. For instance, numerous researches acknowledged that people are doing 15% fewer criminal offences than in the 16th century. Therefore, Jail is not a good way to penalize someone instead of that there should be rehabilitation centres to discipline them. Certainly, jail is the only way to isolate criminals from society. But these places should not encourage to physically and emotionally torture them. if it is not regulated in the right way then prisoners will become more aggressive afterwards. For this,reason prisons should be a house of correction and rehabilitate them from their guilty. Obviously, every action should be strictly analyzed by the judiciary team before giving the penalty. During their imprisonment time, officials should help them to realize their mistakes by teaching them lessons. They can give some good physical activities such as participating in community welfare work. To conclude, I believe that prisons should be highly regulated by the government that should merely to decrease the crime rate.