Some people think that young people who have committed serious crimes, such as robberies or violent attacks, should be punished in the same way as adult offenders. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The social questions raised by whether teenagers should be punished the same as adults when they commit severe crimes are subject to much debate. As far as their mental conditions and social stability, are concerned, I personally consider that this is not a beneficial choice, although juvenile delinquencies do harm their victims as much as adult offenders who commit the same crime. First and foremost, young people’s minds are not fully developed, resulting in easily being influenced by violent content in some media, for instance, television shows, novels and so forth. To some extent, they are not mature enough to understand the consequences of their actions. The more suitable actions that need to be provided to these young criminals are community services to make them reflect on their actions, rather than just serious punishments. In addition, spending time in adult prison is likely to make young offenders even more violent and dangerous. They intend to learn and understand the social and living rules of adult criminals in prison, which has a dramatically negative impact on their development even though they leave prison. Simultaneously, it undoubtedly does harm to social stability in the long run. On the other hand, they actually threaten people’s safety and harm their victims as much as adult offenders. Psychologically, punishing them in the same way as adult criminals makes other people feel safer. However, I still argue that giving young people who have committed serious crimes is worthwhile, as there are various methods to help them to become law-abiding persons. In conclusion, punishing juvenile delinquencies as same as adult offenders has an adverse impact on both individuals and society, considering young people’s mature level of their mental conditions and social stability.