It is important for children to learn what is right and what is wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them learn the distinction. To what extent do you agree? What sort of punsihment should be given?

It is believed that punishment at younger ages would make them distinguish what is good and what is not. From my point of view, punishing is not the best way to learn, specifically in children, I believe that teaching respectfully and with love is how it should be done. Juveniles do not know what is right or wrong until someone teaches them it is. For example, children who bully others probably do that because they have learned from other places, maybe at home. I consider that If their referents are the ones who do inappropriate acts they are the ones who should be punished and not their kids; however, somebody has to tell them that insulting or hitting companions is not what has to be done if they do not do what they want to, instead, having a conversation to solve the problem could be much more productive. Furthermore, recent research has proved that physical or severe punishments could lead to fear, resentment, and emotional damage, which may be counterproductive. For instance, children who have suffered a difficult childhood because of their parents were into drugs, as a result, they are more likely to become criminals as their perception of good or bad has never been defined. I think that these kids should be taught with positive reinforcement rather than harsh punishment. To summarize, punishment is not necessary to teach juveniles, instead, moral education from a young age is essential to develop the decision-making area in their brains that will help them in the future. I strongly believe that the government should take action in this matter and encourage society to be more respectful and affectionate with kids, consequently, they will be happier and make better decisions.