People spend large amounts of time and money on clothes, hairstyles and make up to change their appearance. Is it important for people to be concerned about the way they look? What are the consequences of focussing on physical appearance?

There's no doubt that a person's appearance affects how others think about you and the way they view themselves. Nowadays, a huge amount of money is spent on a person's look including clothes, hairstyle and a lot more. In this essay, I will discuss should people worry about their physical images and the effect it has on them. To commence with, recently, people treat others based on what they wear, which brand or designer. They even categorise your social class based on that. As a result, people can buy something they don't need or can even afford in order to feel that they are fit among others. Secondly, some people change how they look, they can change their haircut or colour, although those changes might not match their personality. Definitely, it doesn't matter how others think about you as long as you are confident. Therefore, people should focus more on what they have, they should embrace themselves, rather than listen to negative comments. Thinking of others feedback can put a huge burden on personal emotions. One can spend a lot of money on a piece of cloth or jewellery in favour of other basic life needs. Moreover, it can lead to serious mental health issues, such as anxiety or even worse as depression. For example, someone can stop eating as a consequence of someone saying "You're fat". Others can even make themselves vomit intentionally if they think that they ate too much. Those are two medical conditions known as Anorexia nervosa and Anorexia bulimia, respectively. To encapsulate, society should not listen to harsh comments. They should cherish what they got already. The community must respect different others images and provide support for those who really need to change.