Everyday millions of tons of food is wasted all over the world. Why do you think this is happening? How can this be solved?

On a daily basis, hundreds of thousands of tons of food is thrown into the garbage bin globally. This is happening due to easy and less costly food products being available for most people, and the solution to this problem is awareness among the masses. The main reason why so much food is being wasted every day around the globe is that food items are easily available and cheap to buy from stores. This is because of the higher production from farms, and when people go to the supermarket to buy groceries, they usually buy food items more than their needs. The extra cooked food or spoiled food is thrown by people in the garbage bins. For example, a recent study by Cambridge University found that nearly 40% of people buy food products more than their needs, and they throw 15% of their cooked food or grocery items into bins each day. To tackle this issue, public awareness about the downsides of throwing food products is a viable solution. People should be made cognizant that millions of people are sleeping hungry worldwide. This extra food that many wastes can be distributed to needy people so that homeless people eat something before they sleep. To illustrate, in my hometown, an NGO collects extra food from restaurants and distribute it to homeless people so that they do not sleep on an empty stomach. In conclusion, an enormous amount of eatables are wasted every day around the world because of excess availability and lower prices of food items. The best solution to curb this problem is spreading awareness among people so that they do not waste food.