Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Other however, argue that the circumstances of an individual crime, and the motivation for committing it, should always be taken into account when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

There are debatable views about whether it is better to have standard punishments for each type of crime or to consider more about other factors or circumstances before commiting crime. In my opinion, both have numerous advantages and drawbacks, however, I strongly believe that judgment after considerations about reasons behind this is a wiser choice and I will support my view elaborately in this essay. On one hand, there is a group of individuals who support the idea of imposing fixed retributions because of various reasons. First of all, one of the most substaintial benefits of fixed punishments is it save a lot of time for the trial. In other words, standardized laws make court proceeding faster and more efficient since the judges do not have to waste time considering further factors. Moreover, these type of ragulations regulation is the possible way to save money not only for the government but also for the victim’s families. Since offenders will be released after receiving retributions, the government can save money for other expenditures of the country and the victim’s family use less of their budgets to hire lawyers or for transportation. However, these rules sometimes too primitive to be applied in this modern world nowadays. For instance, many people who kill someone because of self-defence do not deserve to be classtified into the same category as other killers. On the other hand, it is believed that every crime should be considered eleborately before making decision because of its positive impacts. To begin, flexible senteces are thought to be more equal, compassionate and humane. The judge has to weigh in the gravity of the crime such as motivation, plan,… of the criminals to come up with suitable punishment which ensure the fair trial for paticular circumstance. Additionally, there are more and more crimes happened without any intence or criminals were forced to do it to protect themselves are their families, hence, it is necessary to judge crimes differently instead of applying the same punishment. Nevertheless, these kind of laws can easily prone to bribery and corruption since rich offenders can hire good lawyers, can pay the judges or investigators for shorter period of jail or lighter retributions. In conclusion, there are sill different arguments about which punishments are better to be applied bacause both have positive and negative influences. In my point of view, I still firmly agree that justice system must consider and follow the different procedure for each case before giving punishment.