Museum and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists, not by local people. Why is this so? What could be done to encourage more local visitors? Please include relevant examples from your own knowledge and experience.

India holds the reputation of having a large number of historical places and monuments because this land has supported multifarious civilisation of having different races and religions. Nowadays, plenty of local museums and heritage sites are mostly visited by foreigners as compared to the local community. This is mainly because of the lack of new developments as well as the high ticket rates. This essay shall intend to delve into the main reasons and some possible solutions to overcome this issue in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, the main reason behind why native people are not showing interest in the monuments is due to the insufficiency in the infrastructure and the facilities. To explain it, they get easily bored by seeing one thing again and again and they thought by visiting a museum is just a waste of their time as it does not help them to increase their knowledge about the history. One piece of evidence for this is a Taxila museum located in New Delhi established in the 20th century. In this, building no new services have been made since its development. In this way, it only attracts tourists but not those folk who are dwelling nearby as they already visited and get frustrated by watching the same postures and statues. Furthermore, the entry tickets for both the visitors either they are non-native or local individuals which are not acceptable for everyone. To illustrate it, a recent survey revealed that 75% of communities prefer the internet to know about the story of past time as compared to visiting physically because of the same rate for both the travellers. However, one of the effective solutions to mitigate this problem is by introducing new things such as in a museum the government should provide activities like theatre where they show movies related to our culture. Moreover, authorities should lower the entrance fees in public places for inhabitants. In this way, they can attract more tourists and the rate of tourism increases. To recapitulate, it can be seen that the absence of the latest facilities, as well as higher ticket fares, have restricted natives from visiting museums and old sites. In order to resolve this,obstacle not only the organisation but also the human beings must show some fascination towards the historical sites.