Some people think that art is an essential subject for children at school while others think it is a waste of time. Discuss both views and give your opinion

There have always been debates among people about studying art at school. Some believe in usefulness of this knowledge, but others are convinced that it is just waste of time. Both sides have their arguments, however, I am more inclined to agree with those who consider this subject worth studying. On the one hand, the great majority of adults cannot credibly argue that understanding of modern and art and classic music have helped them a lot in building their career or personal life. In this case, the idea of spending more time learning foreign languages and more practical things as math and physics seems to be quite reasonable. After all, according to common sense and statistics very few professions or occupations really require diving into art, even though most of schools have obligatory subjects of art in their programs regardless of inclinations of every particular child. For example, music was my most hated subject in school and seemed not to have influenced on my personality at all. On the other hand, a well-rounded person who has in-depth knowledge and skills in arts definitely develops one’s brain in such ways that enhance creativity and imagination. These qualities are very valuable in the modern world and could become a strategic advantage in fighting for higher positions and better jobs. A good illustration of such correlation is research, conducted in American schools. It discovered a significant improvement in test results within math and science classes which were involved in arts curriculum. In conclusion, both points make sense, however I believe that arts have a great impact on human’s outlook and schools have to provide opportunities for all to have access to art subjects, taking into account talents and desire of pupils and their parents.