Some people think that parents should teach children how to be good members of society. Others, however, believe that school is the place to learn this.

A number of commentators have expressed the view that it is the responsibility of parents to educate their wards to make them a significant part of the community. A contrasting view is that school is the appropriate platform to learn this. However, while, I think that offspring spend most of their time at home during their early years, I also believe that school authorities are qualified to educate students in a better way. Those who argue that parents should make their children good members of society, tend to focus on the premise that parents are the true teachers. To them, parents spend quality time with their offspring. Moreover, a child always considers his parents as role models for him. So, parents, for example, may encourage children to look after plants in the kitchen garden by setting an example. By doing such activities, qualities of being responsible towards society and the environment, develop spontaneously and gradually. However, there are some myself included, who think that teachers are qualified with various special skills. So, they can implement proven techniques in order to motivate students towards responsible behaviour. Additionally, in that ambience, where pupils come from various walks of life, it is usually effective to educate children about uniformity and respecting others. Also, when pupils actively participate in group projects, in which they are forced to work together as a team with a common objective, for instance, a quiz or any group activity, they experience a sense of belonging. Which gradually, is transformed into love and care for others. In conclusion, both viewpoints are discussed with relevant arguments. However, I personally, subscribe to the view that in order to help a child in becoming a responsible part of society, school and home both have equal responsibility. So, teachers and parents should work collaboratively.