Many people use social media to keep in touch with other people and for news events. Do the advantages of this outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, using social applications in order to communicate with others or update report events becomes widespread among people. While there are some drawbacks associated with using social media, I believe the main benefits are more substantial. This essay will argue that the advantages of this outweigh the drawbacks. On the one hand, a primary advantage of using social media is that connections are made effortlessly regardless of the location or time. Hence, it helps many individuals who were immigrated to another country to make a connection with their relatives just by pressing a click. For example, it is so convenient for parents whose children study abroad to make a video call daily. In addition, due to the technological advancements in applications, various information is speared quickly, therefore, anyone can access the latest news. For instance, football fans are able to know the latest live football results on their way home. On the other hand, a potential disadvantage of the existence of social media may be that each person would waste a lot of time on these social websites while it could be handled by time management. Also, people are maybe influenced by fake news published on such websites which provides some unreal content. For instance, teenagers are in danger of believing the fake lifestyle is presented by bloggers on Instagram. However, there is actually no evidence to support this view. In conclusion, using social media would indeed seem disadvantageous under certain circumstances. However, in my view, it is positive effects in terms of expanding their relationship and getting the up-to-date data is override the downsides.