Some people believe that there should be fixed punishments for each type of crime. Others suggest that the circumstances of a crime, and the reasons for committing it, should be taken into consideration when deciding on the punishment. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

There is no denying the fact that crime is a worldwide issue, and each country has its own laws to rule its people. While it is a commonly held belief that there should be fixed punishments for each type of them, there is also an argument that the circumstances of a crime, and the reasons behind them, should be taken into consideration when deciding on the punishment. To begin with, some people believe that deciding a fixed punishment for each crime is fairer, while this idea can simplify the court process in ruling because the decision is already made. In other words, this idea will eliminate the role of the court, because judges will not be able to make their own judgment about any crime even if the circumstances were on the side of the person who committed the crime. For example, if a teenager gets abused by his father and decides to defend himself by fighting back, if the father decides to file a case against his son, there will be a huge probability that this person will get misjudgment. On the other hand, many individuals say that circumstances should be considered as the reasons behind committing the crime. It is possible to say that every person deserves to be defended no matter what he did because paying attention to every detail will improve the accurcy of the judgment. Moreover, this will help the governments to be fairer about the way they rule their country by achieving justice in the best possible way. For example, if a man who has mental issues decides to commit a crime, the court should not treat him like a normal person because he is in an abnormal condition. In conclusion, there are no easy answers to this question. On balance, however, I tend to believe that the best way to seek justice can be achieved by considering the circumstances and the details.