The use of social media is replacing face-to-face interaction among many people in society. Do you think the advasntages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is true that the number of persons who use social media instead of communication in person is increasingly growing in recent years. Although I think that this trend has some obvious harmful consequences, I believe that the advantages of communication through social media platforms can outweigh the disadvantages. On the one hand,it is often argued that online interaction may lead to some mental problems and a lack of interpersonal skills. Individuals,who usually use digital platforms to connect with people,tend to prefer staying alone and isolated to being with others and then they will have a feeling of loneliness which can lead to many mental health diseases if persons choose to stay alone for a long period. In addition, connections via digital tools tend to deprive the population of the ability to develop their interpersonal skills such as public speaking and active listening which remain essential for their personal and professional lives. On the other hand, there are several reasons that why the population prefer to connect with each other through the internet. Firstly, The ease and convenience of communication which provides the application of social media conversation may help people to keep in touch with their loved ones despite the time and the place. For example, parents can stay in contact with their children who study outside their hometown thanks to Messenger and Whatsapp. Secondly, the majority of owners of businesses prefer to discuss some points using some digital platforms such as skype with their clients or consumers across the world because it costs approximately nothing and is cheaper than travelling to another country to make a meeting. That is why this tren has many benefits to maintain personal and professional connections. In conclusion, despite that the excessive use of social applications can engender some problems, I believe that the benefits which it brings exceed its drawbacks because it provides useful merits to people who desire to connect with their close persons or to communicate with their co-workers.