WRITING TASK 2 You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Some people believe that governments should have access to people’s mobile phone call records and messages for safety reasons. Others believe that this information is private and should not be available without permission. Discuss both these views and give your opinion. Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. Write at least 250 words

People have different opinions about the access to individuals' mobile phones. While some people believe that the government should monitor phone calls and messages, I believe that everybody has the right to privacy and that information should not be available without consent. Having access to individuals' call records and messages is something that the governments can review to protect the public. Furthermore, different governments can listen to the call records or download your messages when the keywords activate the system because are suspicious of committing a crime. For instance, in my country, the police can use this system, one day they opened an investigation against an individual who was a suspect of committing paedophilia. After a few months of thorough investigation and reviewed call records and messages, the police could imprison this person and stop his unlawful activity. Although discovering criminal activities is a good reason to access the public's information, I believe that the right to privacy should be present and the authority must ask for permission. In addition, people are not committing crimes daily, and that is the reason that the ministry should implement a system to detect illegitimate people. Nevertheless, the ministry should ask for permission to read people's generated data if they do not have enough exhibits of criminal activity. For example, the news talked about a police department that was listening to call records of someone who was acting suspiciously in the town. However, they realized when all the police department appeared in his house that the person in question, was preparing a surprise party for his wife. To conclude, even though the government wants to access people's information for safety reasons, I believe that they should ask for permission or have enough criminal exhibits to review individuals' data generated.