Task 2: Some people think that zoos are all cruel and should be closed down. Others however believe that zoos can be useful in protecting wild animals. Discuss both opinions and give your own opinion.

There are controversial notions heating a debate over whether zoos should exist. Some claim that all zoos are evil and ought to be shut down but the opposite makes the statement that zoos can be useful in preserving wild animals. While the latter is valid to some extent, i consider myself as an advocate of the former. With a shadow of a doubt, zoos are beneficial to protect wild animals in certain ways. There is a myriad of endangered animals that are on the brink of extinction because of some dangerous factors that pose a threat to their life and inhabitants so zoos can help them by putting them in a safe place and feeding them every single day. Currently, numerous zoos now run conservation breeding programs to ensure wildlife does not become extinct. For instance, the AZA program increases the number of endangered species and avoids extinction through regulated breeding of animals in zoos. Hence, it is undeniable that zoos bring tremendous benefits to protect animals. While the redeeming feature of zoos is widely acknowledged, it still has a wealth of reasons why people think that zoos are not crucial and should be closed. Obviously, it’s impossible for zoos to meet all the unique environmental, nutritional, climate, and social needs of the various species they hold captive so that some zoos fail to provide even basic care. For instance, South Lakes Safari Zoo in Cumbria was discovered that nearly 500 animals died there in under three years from causes ranging from lack of care to neglect of their health. As a result, the cruelty of zoos is a pressing issue that should be closed to protect all species. In conclusion, zoos may act as a precursor in some certain aspects, however, the most useful way to preserve animals is to shut down the zoos.