In some countries young people are encouraged to work or travel for a year between finishing high school and starting university studies. Discuss the advantages and disadvantages for young people who decide to do this?

Some people suggest that students who just graduated from their high schools should take the time to do something else for one year. This advice has both upsides and downsides for adolescents who choose this path instead of applying to universities. To start with, if teenagers make a choice that they will do some works or travel to other cities, it will grant them some benefits. Not only will they have time to relax from studying, but they will also have time to find themselves a bit more. For instance, many students do not know yet what career they will choose in the future, so, giving them one year to explore which activities they enjoy or which occupations they want to do after they graduate, will have a big impact on them and their future. In contrast, rest for one year can also have some disadvantages. These youth group will start their life slowly than others children who are the same age since they decide to stop their academic journeys for one year. They will also lose some opportunities to graduate at the same time with their group of friends. Another downside is that they will not have a chance to spend their academic years with their best friend and because of this, it can also make their friendship broken, for example, my sister decide to go to work instantly instead of joining universities with her friends, even though, they are still friends, their closeness is not the same as before. In conclusion, young people who work or travel during the time that they actually should go to universities will have a chance to know what career path they would like to take, however, their friendship with their close friends will be ruined because they are not in the same environment anymore.