The government should spend more money on medical research to protect citizens’ health rather than on protecting the environment. Do you agree or disagree?

In this day and age, the government ’s funding has never failed to provoke controversial debates among people. Some people claim that the authority ought to invest more money in medical research to safeguard residents’ health instead of environmental protection. I would contend that the government should put a premium on both fields to form a better world. lt is undeniable that spending a large amount of money on medical research can bring tremendous benefits to society. Without a shadow of a doubt, healthcare funding acts as a precursor to invent innovative medicines, which are considered far-reaching solutions to several alarming problems of the general public. For instance, by allocating a colossal cost in creating a wealth of different vaccines such as Pfizer or Astra Zeneca for the law-abiding citizens to utilize, a high death toll resulting from the Covid-19 pandemic has deteriorated. Therefore, it is essential that the government cash a huge expense in exploring the medical aspect. While the redeeming features of sparing money on medical research are widely acknowledged, it is unfair if those of protecting the environment are ignored. Undeniably, the devastating effects of the inexorable increase in global temperature and with it, the progressive rise in sea levels are threatening the very security of humans. On top of that, only by diverting expenditure to waste treatment systems as well as developing green technology can humans alleviate the pressing environmental problems. Recycling items and systems can be cited as a compelling example of a highly effective and a key solution in shifting away from single-use plastics. Undisputedly, the financial participation of the government ought to be put into the priority so that the damage done to the earth will be reversed. To sum up, funding in both medical research and protecting the environment play a paramount significant role in making a better place for inhabitants to dwell in; hence, the government should distribute the coffer in an equal and appropriate way.