In the future, all cars, buses and trucks will be driverless. The only people travelling inside these vehicles will be passengers. Do you think the advantages of driverless vehichles outweigh the disadvantages?

It is believed that vehicles such as buses, cars and trucks will move only on autopilot in the future and carry only passengers in them. This fact has both advantages and drawbacks, but this essay will prove to you why the benefits outweigh the flaws, in my opinion. Driverless means of transport have numerous arguments supporting them. First of all, they will prevent many accidents caused by human fault. This will mean that, for example, drivers under the influence of substances will not be a danger to others on the road anymore. A safer travelling environment will be created as a result. Furthermore, driverless vehicles will ensure wider freedom of transportation. Nothing would depend on the skills of the driver, as one will not be needed, causing more people to be inclined to travel wherever they want. On the other hand, there are some disadvantages to autopiloted vehicles. To commence with, no reaction would be possible if the car or bus breaks mid-road. As a human cannot take control of the steering wheel, for instance, the vehicle will not be able to pull over if a problem happens. Another thing is that constant map updates will be needed in the GPS software of the car or bus, as any missed actualisation could be an obstacle for the passengers. To sum up, I believe that the drawbacks of driverless vehicles are minimal compared to the benefits. As technology advances, even the few faults of autopiloted means of transport will be smoothed out, creating more safety on the road and giving more people the chance to travel.