A number of tertiary courses require students to undertake a period of unpaid work at art institution or organization as part of their programme. What are the advantages and disadvantages .

Nowadays, in most educational programmes, an internship is a very common practice done by students in different organisations or art institutions. Moreover, during the internship, students do not get any payment and sometimes they also work for a long time in a day. In my opinion, an internship is useful for students but they should get a little amount for that. Firstly, many colleges and other educational institutes expect their students to go on short term practical training. I strongly believe that it is a very good opportunity for students to practically learn all those things which they know theoretically. In addition to that, it enhances their knowledge and command in that particular subject. Similarly, while working with other professionals, they also get the chance to see the working life and learn the things like team management, leadership, time management etc. Another advantage is that sometimes organisations are also interested to hire students if they like their performance in the task given to them. In this way, it also provides a job opportunity to the students. However, the disadvantage, in my opinion, is not getting any payment for their work. If they get some amount for work, they will feel much better and enthusiastic. If they do not get anything, they might be less interested and less sincere towards their duties. In conclusion, getting practical knowledge of what we study helps us to get the proper understanding and good command of the topic. Whereas, it is also appreciated to get some money for the work we do.