In some countries, a few people earn extremely high salaries. Some people think that this is good for a country , while others believe government should control salaries and limit the amount people can earn. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

The gap between rich and poor has been growing throughout the last century. Some individuals perceive it as a positive development for the country, however others think that it is the government's responsibility to restrict the earnings of rich people. This essay will discuss the debate, and explain why I believe that limitation of income by governments is a utopian idea and would not succeed. On one hand, the profit people in the country make the better it is for the economy. In most cases wealthy people are those who own companies, thus they are able to procure capital, improve technologies, grow and expand. This allows them to create more workplaces for other layers of the society and increase productivity, which grows the economy. On the opposite side, the government ’s restrictions on income would decrease the gap between wealthy and poor people, therefore, make everyone equal in an economic sense. Similar opportunities for each person, would mean that every individual has a chance for success, despite their status. This perception would help people to believe in themselves and work hard to prosper. In my point of view, when the government puts a limit on an individual’s earnings it becomes a utopia, and history demonstrated that this kind of system would be a failure. The communistic political and economic system of government promotes the idea of social and economic equality among its citizens. Unfortunately, in the example of the USSR world’s society witnessed that the system of economic equality only leads to corruption. Thus, controlling the profits of its citizens is not a reliable method for decreasing economic inequality for the government. In conclusion, the economic prosperity of certain people helps the country to develop. Although, the idea of limitation of earnings seems to solve the problem of having a disproportionately high amount of people who have low income, history showed that it is not viable.